Even though The Zone doesn’t specifically forbid things like sugar and bread, it’s highly discouraged because you don’t get the amount of fiber that you need from those carbohydrate sources. So we’ve been avoiding breads and sugars for about 90% of our meals for the past 6 months. Because I’m around people who are CrossFitters, I can’t seem to escape the transition from The Zone to Paleo. It’s everywhere and now it seems to be going mainstream thanks to Mark Sisson and his new book entitled The Primal Blueprint. As if I need another source of nutrition information to further cloud my already clogged braincells, it’s everywhere I turn saying, “Read me. Read me!” Today I was perusing some stuff on the interwebz and came across this quote from that book:

“Let me reiterate my distaste for a perfectionist mentality toward diet, physical appearance, lifestyle change, and even school, career, and competitive athletics. Respecting the broad definition of health and the legacy of a simple lifestyle that our ancestors lived, we need to reject the measuring and judging forces of society and pursue fun and peace of mind in conjunction with health and fitness goals.”

Can you say … balance? He doesn’t use that word, but that’s exactly what he’s describing here. OK, so I may have to eat a little crow here and pick up this book for my Kindle and read it over Spring Break. Is crow paleo?

Sigh… what am I becoming?